Bank of Happiness

Using Econs concept to decontextualise HAPPINESS:

I remember vaguely what I said before, like how I want to operate a bank of happiness.

So this is how I’ll manage it. Everyday I shall start depositing a single happiness into the bank (which is called savings by the way). Then when rainy days come (for example, a recession), I’ll become poor in happiness. So what I can do is to withdraw these savings and then make myself happy again.

In fact, maybe I can spread the happiness to others, because this will bring about a multiplier effect. Like when talking to happy people, it makes you happy (which by the way is a positive externality). So when you make person A and B happy, they can talk to others and make person C and D happy, then when you talk to person A, B, C and D, they’ll all make you happy. But of course, that’s dependent on how optimistic (the marginal propensity to make people happy) they are.

Not just that! If I can invest my happiness in other people, then seeing them happy, I’ll feel even happier (I’m collecting my debt + interest rate).

What a cool idea!

My bank of happiness shall succeed. Awesome! (Hence I shall copyright it NOW.)

~ by Tan Zhao Xun on September 29, 2010.

Leave a comment